The Spectre of Perfectionism

I think part of the struggle of anyone wanting to create something – whether painter, musician, or writer – is the striving for perfection. There’s always the nagging ever-present pressure to come up with a creation perfectly polished, without any blemish and without anything in it that could incur negative criticism from its audience. Perfectionism might very well be self-imposed. And although some struggling artist or writer might crack under the strain, but, on the other hand, it might likely have been the impetus for the masterpieces we’ve seen in art ever since the Age of Renaissance…

But what is the underlying engine that drives artistic perfectionism? I think every artist should ask himself this question. If I look into my own creative process, I might as well be honest (first of all to myself) and confess that part of it is the desire for approval. This, I’m well aware, can be a deadly poison that could spell death to the creative process and, consequently, death to the thing being created if magnified to such a degree as to become the sole motivation for art. I’ve read that the ideal motive for creating art is to express, to give form and to concretize the vision, the longing, the dreams and sorrow that the artist sees or feels within his spirit. Period. When the work is done, then, it is well and good. Period. One may display the end-product or one may not. But if I do show to the world what I have created, then it is merely in order to share what I have to give (in this case, art), I, being part of the human community that (let’s face it) thrives on giving and receiving. If my art is well-received or not is really only secondary. The important thing being that I have done my part…

About jptecson

An aspiring writer of fiction, currently working, or should I say, attempting to write his very first novel...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

